Posts Tagged ‘Trip-Hop


Get Ready For (a) Massive Attack..

Massive Attack

As the trip-hop pioneers will be unveiling their 5th album Heligoland next week, the world prepares their ears for another Massive Attack of audio goodness.

It’s been seven long years since Robert “3D” Del Naja & Grant “Daddy G” Marshall released their most recent studio project 100th Window. After touring, film soundtrack appearances and a series of charity events, the UK duo will finally bless us with yet another electronic opus.

Heligoland features vocals from long-time collaborator Horace Andy in addition to Tunde Adebimpe (TV on the Radio), Martina Topley-Bird (Tricky), and Guy Garvey (Elbow) among others, over thumping drums and lush, electro-hop symphonies.

Fans can pre-order Massive Attack’s new album on Amazon, and catch a preview by either downloading their recent podcast with BBC 6 Music’s Steve Lamacq or the bolded tracks below. Prepare yourselves, Enjoy!


Pre-Order on Amazon: Massive Attack – Heligoland [MP3 Download]

Download: BBC 6 Music – 2/1/10 Massive Attack Podcast with Steve Lamacq (Right click – Save As) [Update: Unavailable outside the UK. Sorry y’all.]

Track List (Preview Bolded Tracks):

1. Pray for Rain (feat. Tunde Adebimpe) 6:44
2. Babel (feat. Martina Topley-Bird) 5:19
3. Splitting The Atom (feat. Horace Andy) 5:16
4. Girl I Love You (feat. Horace Andy) 5:26
5. Psyche (feat. Martina Topley-Bird) 3:24
6. Flat of the Blade (feat. Guy Garvey) 5:30
7. Paradise Circus (feat. Hope Sandoval) 4:57
8. Rush Minute 4:51
9. Saturday Come Slow (feat. Damon Albarn) 3:43
10. Atlas Air 7:48


Expanding Horizons: Emancipator – Safe in the Steep Cliffs


As far as I’m concerned, and I’ve said this countless times before, there are only two types of musicgood and badEmancipator falls in the former category.

I first heard of the Portland, Oregon producer/multi-instrumentalist last year when I stumbled upon his 2008 opus Soon It Will Be Cold Enough. You know that feeling when you’ve found something you know you’ll treasure for a while? Yup, that one. You could only imagine how I felt when I saw that his new album Safe in the Steep Cliffs dropped yesterday.

If freshly layered, organic soundscapes are your thing (how could they not be?), then you’ve come to the right place. Incorporating a variety of instruments including trumpets, violins, guitars, clarinets and even mandolins to develop a truly unique style, his albums possess a natural dynamic as they flow swiftly from track to track like a river snaking down a mountainside (or something like that, you get the point!).

I’ve featured some previews below, my select choices of what I believe to be his best work. I respect any producer that can flip Mobb Deep and Sigur Ros on the same jawn, and make it dope. You can purchase both albums by clicking the links or covers. The man himself describes his latest project:

Safe In The Steep Cliffs represents the tightest, most unique, most organic beats I’ve made in the last three years. This album has a new palette of sounds and samples from around the world, including more original recordings (guitar/violin/mandolin/banjo) and new guest artists including Japanese jazz musician Uyama Hiroto. It’s ominous and overgrown, dense and ethereal. And epic. Always epic.

Emancipator will be touring parts of the U.S. starting February to promote his new album. Check out the previews below and visit if you like what you hear. Support the only type of music that matters – good. Vibe to this and leave feedback if you get a chance after you listen, Enjoy!

Preview Tracks:

“Shook (Sigur Deep)” – Samples Mobb Deep & Sigur Ros

Live Set at Trinumeral

“Crosses (Jose Gonzalez Remix)” – Samples Missy Elliot


Safe in the Steep Cliffs

Safe in the Steep Cliffs (2010)

Tracklist With Previews:

1. Greenland
2. Black Lake
3. Jet Stream
4. Kamakura
5. All Through The Night
6. Old Devil
7. Nevergreen
8. Ares
9. Rattlesnakes
10. Bury Them Bones
11. Vines
12. Hill Sighed
13. Siren
14. Safe In The Steep Cliffs

Soon It Will Be Cold Enough

Soon It Will Be Cold Enough (2008)

Tracklist With Previews:

1. Lionheart
2. Wolf Drawn
3. When I Go (feat. Thao Nguyen)
4. With Rainy Eyes
5. The Darkest Evening Of The Year
6. Eve
7. Smoke Signals
8. Periscope Up
9. First Snow
10. Good Knight
11. Soon It Will Be Cold Enough To Build Fires
12. Anthem

Upcoming Tour Dates:

Feb 2 Crown Hall  – Mendocino, CA w/ Bassnectar
Feb 3 Arcata Theatre – Arcata, CA w/ Bassnectar
Feb 4 McDonald Theatre – Eugene, OR w/ Bassnectar
Feb 5 Roseland Theater – Portland, OR w/ Bassnectar
Feb 6 Showbox SoDo – Seattle, WA w/ Bassnectar.
Feb 22   Wilma Theater – Missoula, Montana w/ STS9
Feb 25   The Depot – Salt Lake City, Utah w/ STS9
Feb 26   House of Blues – Las Vegas, Nevada w/ STS9
Feb 27   Marquee Theatre  – Tempe, Arizona w/ STS9
Feb 28   Rialto Theater – Tucson, Arizona w/ STS9
Mar 3     New Earth Music Hall – Athens, GA
Mar 4     90 Proof – Knoxville, TN
Mar 5     412 Market – Chattanooga, TN
Mar 6     12th & Porter – Nashville, TN
Mar 7     Kentucky Downs – Franklin, KY
Mar 19 Kinetic Playground – Chicago, IL
Mar 20 The Loft – Minneapolis, MN
Mar 27 – Harper’s Ferry – Boston, MA

Corleone, Hold the Throne



HipHopBlips Member Blog


Sample Sets

Support The Artists

July 2018
« Feb    

Banner Design By