23
Aug
09

Cruise in 5th Gear

MM3.5

With all the Joe Budden hate around the internets for various reasons, some people forget his epic Mood Muzik mixtape series. Here’s a gem “5th Gear” from the 3rd installment in 2007, just to remind those who think he’s the weakest link in Slaughterhouse know that dude can still rip a track.

Download link for the no DJ version and lyrics below, Enjoy!

Joe Budden – 5th Gear

Look, come and cruise wit’ me
I’m good in any hood, no matter who’s wit’ me
My mind on gettin’ money, bumpin’ new 50
Or my mind was off music til Clue hit me
And told me keep it on the booth strictly
So I step in, watchin’ my surroundings and my settings
Then I let the Percocet set in
Rough year, lost five of my homeboys
I ain’t worried ’bout it, y’all alive, just home boy
I feel like I’m the last real aggin left
Or, maybe all the real aggins just left

We growin’ extinct, we like dinosaurs
There’s only a few exceptions, so minus y’all
The greatest rapper alive is wearin’ suits and ties
So you got a buncha’ wack aggins sayin’ they him
Used to be if you strive for so somethin’ you could achieve it
Now just say shit, these aggins’ll believe it
I’m done screamin’ out jump off rules
Lost my girl, broke all of my jump off rules
Kept fuckin’ the side chick, so a aggin lied more
Picked her up in the woman’s car, that I ride for
Creepin’, I would hide more
Got confused as to who I’m supposed to fight for
I can’t even blame the jump, it was my fault
‘Cause I gave ‘hr the gun and she killed the only bitch I would die for
So the noise is called for
When you goin’ through T’s type of pain
Dog, ya voice gets altered
Know it’s hard to stay calm
Gon’ need State Farm
When you fuckin’ with a con
No, not Akon
I’m high off life, a walkin’ napalm
Fastballs comin’ at ’em from a Dice-K arm
Ridin’ suspended L
No wonder I’m on fire, I already been through Hell
So, when the the world’s against you, well
Naw I never snitch, but I’ll let the pencil tell

I suffer from wrong thinkin’
So I avoid straightjackets
And the bitch that dumped Sean Kingston
Better they respect you then to fear you
I learned that starin’ at the world in my rear view

But come get me, cocksucker I dare you
Rather box a felon than a aggin that’s fearful

 

Want a clear view, without a clear view
I put the wall up but thoughts just tear through
God, I hear you, givin’ me a earful
But I’ma cruise in 5th gear until I’m near you


Eye of a tiger, naw, a sniper with great aim
I won’t be another great slain
Takes planes, embrace pain
Ask Eddie Griffin
You gun lose gon’ lose everytime goin’ up against a freight train
Niggas bleed like us, we in the same world
Keep the Patron comin’, tryin’ make the date hurl
It’s a few aggins checkin’ out my chain pearls
Go ahead, try’ n lift somethin’ that’chu can’t curl
Far from Wayne’s World
If life’s a bitch, it ain’t just R. Kelly and Ush’ fuckin’ the same girl
OG swag, walk gotta’ limp in it
It’s my world, everybody’s payin’ rent in it
I left Jers, see I took flight on ’em
Dudes tried to take the crown, didn’t look right on ’em
How you gon’ fuck wit’ a crook, heist want ’em
Play Vanilla Ice, I get Suge Knight on ’em
Meanest Porsches, gleamin’ crosses
Came from Queens to restore this
Deemed it in orbit
When the red carpet rolled out, that mean it’s bosses
Don’t get it fucked up, we had fiends before this
My third-eye sharp, so keen, it’s gorgeous
I’ve seen it all, even Halloween in August
Gun in my hand
The game used to make you sell ya soul
Now it gotta’ come wit’ a dance

I’m on the clear view
Without a clear view
I put the wall up, but thoughts just tear through
God I hear you, givin’ me a earful
But I’ma cruise in 5th gear until I’m near you

 

2 Responses to “Cruise in 5th Gear”


  1. August 23, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Word, I don’t really care for his work as of late, but the Mood Muzik series was real dope.

  2. August 30, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Loving your blog homie…


Leave a Reply

Corleone, Hold the Throne

E-Mail:

Twitter:

HipHopBlips Member Blog

Reviews

Sample Sets

Support The Artists

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Banner Design By


